I dream, therefore I am… going to tell 1 million stories to children all around the world

The Earth seen from Apollo 17.

The Earth seen from Apollo 17. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As far ago as I can remember, I always loved reading books. I started looking at comic books even before I could read. I learned to read with the Smurfs (which I still own and am now passing to my daughter for the same purpose). I have awesome recollections of reading good novels at the country house of my parents during many summer vacations when I was a teenager. I learned Spanish reading Mafalda, Garfield and Condorito (Chilean comic book). Books helped me pass through the difficult moments of my life and allowed me to fully enjoy the best moments as well.

My daughter recently learned how to read and is enjoying books as much as I was at her age. To me, this is fantastic and I’m proud of it because I consider that giving her this passion was the best gift I could giver her. The passion of reading will be with her forever and will help her during her whole life. I have no doubts about that.

At the same time, I know that many children in the world do not have the chance my daughter had and may not be exposed to books like we both were. I want to make a difference in the life of those children. I want to tell them stories, show them how books can take them into the fabulous world of their imagination, how interesting they are and the million things they can learn by reading a book.

I want to give out 1 millions gifts for this project. This is why… I dream, therefore I am… going to tell 1 millions stories to children all around the world!

Leave a Reply

